The Long Hot Summer Dress

screenshot

Dress pattern from Vogue.Did you know that Vogue Patterns occasionally has wild internet sales, bringing $30 patterns down to about $4? I’m not exactly rolling in cash (most of my sewing projects are made of cheap cotton or synthetic so that I don’t have to sacrifice my grocery budget for a new dress), so these sales are one of the few times I actually purchase patterns.

Second question: did you know that 1950s Hollywood made a couple movie adaptations of William Faulkner’s works, and that they turned Southern gothic drama into dreamy romance by casting a bunch of brooding hunks as the stars and giving everyone my dream wardrobe?

It’s absolutely roasting out today, so in honour of one of these films, The Long Hot Summer, I want to share one of my Vogue Pattern projects that I finished last year. I searched the internet in vain for a photo of Joanne Woodward wearing a very specific dress in the film.

richard-anderson-longhotsummer-0

This is the dress.

I want her eyebrows, and her lipstick, and her bangs, and her man, and so on.

Nobody cares for pink pastels, because I couldn’t find a full-length shot of it. I have watched this film about a hundred times, lusting after Joanne’s amazing wardrobe–and that she gets to smooch Paul Newman, who is randomly shirtless at one point–and this dress entered into my subconscious, because I bought the Vogue pattern above without realizing why it was so familiar and perfect.Woman in a vintage pastel green dress in an antique room.

I made it very long because I would rather sashay into a room than walk.

Woman showing the back of a dress.

 

I have proof that I actually leave my room, because I have a photo of this dress out in the real world:

100_8252 - Version 2

Anna Wintour, call me, I belong in Vogue…

Time to complete: about a year of on-and-off hand-sewing
Pattern: “Vintage” Vogue pattern V1044, reprinted 1956 design
Fabric: CHEAP pastel green synthetic that is supposed to feel like cotton from a little shop in Montreal for about $2/metre
New skill: I put in a very deep hem because it looked posh and made the skirt a bit heavier to combat windy days.
Hidden stuff: the buttons are fake; I used snaps because I am a lazy lump. I’m paying for it now, because the snaps pop open unexpectedly.

Close up of a woman's vintage pastel dress.

Leave a Reply

